91st Annual Honors and Awards

Presented Nov. 4, 2022, CY Stephens Auditorium

Dessert reception sponsored by the Tahira and Labh Hira ISUAA Honors & Awards Fund

91st Honors & Awards

MEMORIAL UNION AWARD: Harold Pride Service Medallion

Kevin Drury (’83 agriculture business)
owner and president, Hedlin Ag Enterprises
Ankeny, IA


Robert Rust
professor emeritus and meat science extension specialist, Iowa State University
Ames, IA

George Washington Carver Distinguished Service Award

Christopher Nelson
president and chief executive officer, Kemin Industries
Cumming, IA

Henry A. Wallace Award

Bill Northey (’81 agriculture business)
chief executive officer, Agribusiness Association of Iowa 
Urbandale, IA

Outstanding Young Professional Award

Amanda (Taylor) De Jong (’02 agriculture business)
 head of government affairs and policy engagement, Pivot Bio 
Rhodes, IA

IVY COLLEGE OF BUSINESS: Citation of Achievement

Christi Shaw (’88 marketing)
chief executive officer, Kite Pharma
Santa Monica, CA

Citation of Achievement

Jill Klindt (’98 accounting) 
chief financial officer, senior vice president, chief accounting officer, Workiva
Ames, IA

John D. DeVries Service Award

Doug Lenhart (’15 MBA)
vice president, global sourcing, Chevron Renewable Energy Group
Ames, IA

Outstanding Young Alumni Award

Jake Van Diest (’12 economics, finance,’14 MBA)
president and chief executive officer, Van Diest Supply Company
Webster City, IA

Russ & Ann Gerdin Award

Rick Dark 
emeritus associate professor Iowa State University 
Colorado Springs, CO

DESIGN: Christian Petersen Design Award

Kevin W. Monson (’73 architecture)  
retired principal and board chair, Neumann Monson Architects
Iowa City, IA

Deb Pulver (’81 interior design)  and the late Bob Pulver
founder, Strands of Strength
West Des Moines, IA

Design Achievement Award

Tobin Tracey (’85 architecture, ’86 barch)  
director, Office of Cultural Heritage, U.S. Department of State Bureau of Overseas Building Operations
Alexandria, IA

Outstanding Young Professional Award

Caroline Freese (’16 BFA integrated studio arts)
owner, Caroline Freese Designs LLC
Indianola, IA

Bethany Jordan (’11 barch)
project architect, Martin Gardner Architecture
Marion, IA

ENGINEERING: Anson Marston Medal

Max Porter (’65 civil engineering, MS ’68 structural engineering, PhD ’74)
university professor emeritus, Iowa State University
Ames, IA

Mark Lashier (’85 chemical engineering, PhD ’89) 
president and chief executive officer, Phillips 66 
The Woodlands, IA

Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering

Laura Brooks Maxwell (’89 industrial engineering) 
senior vice president of supply chain, PepsiCo Foods North America
Dallas, TX

Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering

Chris Ellison (’00 chemical engineering) 
Zsolt Rumy Innovation Chair of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Young Alumni Award

Samarjit Das (PhD ’10 electrical engineering)
principal researcher/senior manager, Bosch Research Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

HUMAN SCIENCES: Alumni Achievement Award

Michael Benitez, Jr. (PhD ’15 educational leadership & policy studies)
vice president of diversity and inclusion, Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver, CO

Laura Brannen West (MFS ’10 family financial planning) 
founder and managing partner West Financial Advisors, LLC
West Des Moines, IA

Helen LeBaron Hilton Award

JacqueLynn E. (Jacque) Andrew (’74 home economics journalism)
retired director of community relations, Greene County Medical Center
Jefferson, IA

Virgil S. Lagomarcino Laureate Award

Laura Doering (MS ’99 education)
associate vice president for enrollment management Iowa State University
Ankeny, IA

Outstanding Young Professional Award

Michael Montgomery (’16 athletic training) 
assistant athletic trainer, New Orleans Pelicans
Metairie, LA

LIBERAL ARTS & SCIENCES: Citation of Merit Award

Dr. Dan Fulton (’04 biology)
infectious disease physician, McFarland Clinic
Ames, IA

Distinguished Service Award

Mary Greeley Medical Center and McFarland Clinic
Ames, IA

Carrie Chapman Catt Public Engagement Award

Dr. Lauren S. Hughes (’02 zoology and spanish)
state policy director, Farley Health Policy Center, University of Colorado
Aurora, CO


Young Alumni Award

Zach Johnson (’09 journalism & mass communicaiton) 
senior communications specialist, The Walt Disney Company
Los Angeles, CA

Tom Schenk Jr. (’07 economics)
managing director, KPMG
Chicago, IL

Young Alumni Award

Maggie Luttrell Roby (’09 history, women's studies, ’11 educational leadership & policy studies)
lead, Cargill Animal Nutrition North America SAP Process Implementation and Management associate program manager, Cargill Nutrition & Health
Overland Park, KS

VETERINARY MEDICINE: Outstanding Young Alumni Award

Dr. Aubrey Cordray (DVM ’14)
owner and veterinarian Humboldt Veterinary Clinic
Humboldt, IA

Lorraine J. Hoffman Graduate Alumni Award

Dr. Howard Hill (MS ’73 microbiology, PhD ’74) 
livestock producer and veterinarian Breeze Hill Farm, LLC
Cambridge, IA

William P. Switzer Award in Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Liz Wagstrom (DVM ’99, MS ’00 preventive medicine) 
retired chief veterinarian National Pork Producers Council
Faribault, MN

Stange Award for Meritorious Service

Dr. Amy Baker (MS ’97 genetics, MS ’02 animal science, DVM ’02, PhD ’04 immunobiology)
research veterinary medical officer, USDA-ARS National Disease Center
Huxley, IA

Dr. Jim Roth (DVM ’75, MS ’79 immunobiology, PhD ’81)
Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professor ISU College of Veterinary
Ames, IA

Dr. Frederick Douglass Patterson (1923 DVM, 1927 MS)

Alumni Association Awards