Iconic Iowa State Building Turns 120

For over a century, Beardshear Hall has been a landmark on Iowa State's campus

Images by Christopher Gannon, and ISU Special Collections and Archives

 

Beardshear Hall — originally known as the Central Building until it was renamed in 1938 to honor Iowa State's fifth president, William N. Beardshear — was constructed in 1906 for just over $400,000. While use of the space has changed over the years, the structure has remained nearly the same except for an updated inscription over the east entrance, the installation of air conditioning in the 1970s, and improvements to meet fire codes. Following fires that damaged Beardshear’s predecessor, Old Main, in the 1900s, the new building was built to be more fireproof with Bedford limestone and scagliola columns used in its construction.