2023 Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame Class


Mike Strachan former Cyclones running back

Mike Strachan, a two-time first team All-Big Eight running back and ISU’s first two-time 1,000-yard rusher (1972-74). 

Five former Cyclone student-athletes and coaches received the prestigious honor of joining the Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame and were recognized at halftime of the Iowa State-Oklahoma State football game on Saturday, Sept. 23, following the induction ceremony on Sept. 22. The 2023 class included Joan Gearhart, women’s golf, 1970-82; Hercle Ivy, men’s basketball, 1973-76; Dennis Mazur (’72 physical education), men’s gymnastics, 1970-72; Betsy Saina (’13 child, adult, and family services), women’s track and field/cross country, 2009-13; Mike Strachan (’75 physical education), football, 1972-74. The ISU Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 1997, and 204 Cyclone legends have been inducted.